Select Page

Here is what I received for the 9th/JV Conference for the 8 teams listed.. The only correction is that Boyle County will also only be playing 6 minute quarters. Please take note of the overtime procedure….it is definitely different.

Keith

Keith

———- Forwarded message ———
From: Buchanan, David <david.buchanan@mercer.kyschools.us>
Date: Mon, Aug 13, 2018 at 9:15 AM
Subject: Re: 2018 Frosh/JV Conference Schedule- complete
To: Miller, Don <don.miller@franklin.kyschools.us>, James, Eddie <eddie.james@franklin.kyschools.us>, Peach, Mark <mark.peach@anderson.kyschools.us>, Smith, Chuck <chuck.smith@boyle.kyschools.us>, Leffew, Bobby <bobby.leffew@boyle.kyschools.us>, Keith Morgan <ckfoa.assignor@gmail.com>, <spencer.crutchfield@lincoln.kyschools.us>
Cc: Robinson, Anna – Mercer <anna.robinson@mercer.kyschools.us>, Riley, Casey – Mercer <casey.riley@mercer.kyschools.us>, Harris, William – Mercer <william.harris@mercer.kyschools.us>, Rowland, Brian – Mercer <brian.rowland@mercer.kyschools.us>, Cox, Charlie – Mercer <charlie.cox@mercer.kyschools.us>, Heasley, Graham – Mercer <graham.heasley@mercer.kyschools.us>, Mark Huffman <mark.w.huffman@gmail.com>, Smith, Donald – Mercer <donald.smith@mercer.kyschools.us>, Painter, Joshua – Mercer <joshua.painter@mercer.kyschools.us>, Brian Sims <simsbs@live.com>
Coaches-
 
We start our conference play next Monday!  If for some reason you cannot field a freshmen team that week, etc. Please let the other program know ASAP.
 
We will play frosh/jv doubleheaders every Monday, but with only 6 minute quarters.  Boyle prefers 8 minute JV quarters, so that is something you would have to work out with them. 
 
We prefer the 6 minute quarters and always play that because that way all of  your guys can play all three games that week.  And, you have freshmen playing versus freshmen. Our JV was the sophomores and juniors that do not start along with our freshmen.
Labor Day is off. The standings are combined records from Frosh & JV games.
1- All games begin at 6:00, other than Boyle which starts at 6:30.
2- Host team takes care of officials. 
3- Any tiebreakers will be broken first by head to head competition, then by the defense that has given up the fewest points in conference games, and if necessary by coin toss.
4- If we use a sophomore in a frosh game, for purposes of seeding, etc. the game is a forfeit.
5- On Monday night, as soon as both of your games are offer, please text or email me your scores(606-407-3708 so I can get out the standings the next day.
 
– If we choose to use varsity starters on a different side of the ball, etc. for whatever reason, communicate that to the opposing head coach so that we know what to expect, etc. If that week, a team can only play one game, it is a combined game, and the team that could not field a frosh team takes a 0-1 loss for the purpose of conference standings. 
 
**Conference tiebreaker for a game- 2 point conversion: 
Captains meet at midfield for the coin toss. Winner chooses O, D, or the end of field to be played. 
If the offense scores, that team wins. If the offense does not score, the team on defense wins. For scoring purposes, the 2 point play will be one point.
-This takes care of ties for conference standings but gets our kids on the bus and on the way home on a school night as well as protect their bodies as opposed to playing several more plays before a week of practice.
Home Away Home Away Home Away
20-Aug Lincoln Boyle Anderson Mercer W. Hills Franklin
27-Aug Mercer W. Hills Boyle Anderson Franklin Lincoln
10-Sep Franklin Boyle Lincoln Mercer W. Hills Anderson
17-Sep Lincoln Anderson Franklin Mercer Boyle W. Hills
24-Sep Anderson Franklin W. Hills Lincoln Mercer Boyle
1-Oct Boyle Lincoln Mercer Anderson Franklin W. Hills
8-Oct W. Hills Mercer Anderson Boyle Lincoln Franklin
15-Oct Boyle Franklin Mercer Lincoln Anderson W. Hills
22-Oct Championship Monday
Football numbers are down across the country. This conference is vital to the future of the game in our area. Our young guys must get a chance to develop and PLAY. Thank you for being a part of this. Our individual programs benefit, but collectively, the game of FOOTBALL benefits and continues to help guys grow up into YOUNG MEN!

David